Higher Education

Higher Education

Higher education is the name for qualifications and courses you can take after 18. It includes diplomas, foundation years, bachelor’s degrees and more.

You can often study flexibly at your own pace by learning online or part-time. Courses are usually taught in universities, colleges, or specialist institutions like art schools.

Types of qualifications

There are many different types of higher education qualifications, such as:

What you’ll do

Most higher education courses give you the chance to learn through:

Subjects you can take

You’ve got a lot of choice when it comes to higher education. There are hundreds of different subjects to choose from.

You can explore different subjects on the UCAS website.

Entry Requirements

Each provider and qualification will have its own entry requirements that you’ll need to meet.

You’ll usually need A levels or a qualification that’s the same level. If you’re not sure, you can see what the different qualification levels mean.

You can take an access to higher education diploma to prepare you for university if you’re over 19 and do not have A levels.

Tuition fees and funding

Most universities and colleges charge a tuition fee to cover the cost of your course.

You can apply for funding from student finance to support you.

You may also be eligible for a scholarship, grant or bursary, depending on your circumstances and the subject you’re studying.

After higher education

You can use your higher education qualifications towards:

You could also look for volunteering opportunities to get workplace experience and build new skills.

Get more information

You can read more about the different types of higher education courses, what you’ll study and how to apply on the UCAS website Undergraduate | UCAS

Useful university links