Higher Technical
Qualifications (HTQs)


HTQs are technical qualifications that are approved by employers. There are many different types of HTQs, and they are usually taught in the classroom at colleges, universities or independent training providers.

HTQs are an alternative to apprenticeships or degrees. They may suit you if you want a more practical, employer-led study programme.

Types of HTQs

There are many different types of HTQs, such as:

Not all higher national diplomas, higher national certificates, foundation degrees and higher education diplomas will be HTQs. Look out for the HTQ quality mark to tell you if a qualification has been approved.

Other HTQs will be available in the future, such as:

Even more subjects will be available in the future.

Starting an HTQ

To start an HTQ, you’ll need to:

You can apply for a HTQ while you’re still at school.

Entry requirements

Each educational provider sets their own entry requirements for HTQs.

The grades or qualifications you’ll need to have will depend on the type of course you’re applying for.

Tuition fees and funding

Tuition fees vary depending on the course. They’re likely to cost from around £7,000 to £9,250 a year for a 1 or 2-year course.

You may be eligible for funding from student finance or a scholarship, grant or bursary. This will depend on your circumstances and the type of HTQ you’re studying.

Work placements

Work placements are not usually included on a HTQ.

However, many courses do offer you practical skills and experience through:

After your HTQ

After completing a HTQ, you can:

More information

You can use UCAS to search and apply for HTQ courses.

Higher Technical Qualifications | Undergraduate | UCAS